The Solitary Cello
Oren Shevlin
Born in 1969, in Oldham, Oren Shevlin is one of the most outstanding young musicians to have emerged from England in the latter part of the twentieth century. After studying privately from the age of six he furthered his musical education at Chethams School of Music in Manchester and at the Royal Northern College of Music. He completed his studies at the Guildhall School of Music and the Hochschule fur Musik in Cologne, both times receiving the highest honours possible. Over this period he was able to build up a formidable repertoire including over twenty concertos, and an equally broadbased list of 'cello sonatas and music for solo cello'.
CD Track List: CC5046-2
Sonata Op.8 for Cello Solo
1: Allegro maestoso ma appassionato
2: Adagio (con grand' espressione)
3: Allegro molto vivace

4: Strophes Sur Le Nom de Sacher
5: Un poco indeciso
6: Andante sostenuto
7: Vivace

Suite for Cello Op.72
8: Canto Primo
9: I Fuga
10: II Lamento
11: Canto Secondo
12: III Serenata
13: IV Marcia
14: Canto Terza
15: V Bordone
16: VI Moto Perpetuo e Canto Quarto